Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Can't Wait!

Andrew*

Hey,

this is a pretty special place really! You got space for the totally ignorant, like me, and also for the top pros! It's so friendly and well attended

Anyway, I'm trying to get my hands on a first scope, and, as i've never tried it before, I don't exactly wanna splash out!

I've actually bought a Tasco 4.5" for £85 on eBay, but since found out that I'll want a motor for it cos i'll want to be doing astrophotography. I'll probably sell that soon for a more well-recommended scope.

I'm in Aberdeen, just a mile out of town, so it's not the best positioning, but on some nights it's just stunning. I'm really impatient to get in there!

Maybe you could give me some tips on what to start looking for. I'm aware of the big constellations (I know where Betelgeuse is! That's about as good as my knowledge goes so far!) and I know what Jupiter, Venus and Mars look like. I'll have some experiments and keep you updated.

So far, this is my best success as far as star trails (pff!!!) go. I want shots of Andromeda, thank you very much!

image.jpg

Thanks for the welcome!

Astrophethean

Welcome :D

You'll pick up an RA drive for your scope fairly easily which will help with your astrophotography.

I have a 4.5" tasco that I use (occasionally) for imaging and you can get some fairly decent shots with it.

See

http://www.paulstephen.com/astro-jupiterpics.htm

and

http://www.paulstephen.com/astro-saturnpics.htm

Are you using a webcam? You'll need a modded one for DSO imaging to get longer exposures.

You should manage to get some fairly decent dark skies if you go inland a wee bit.

Glasgow is even worse than the granite city I can assure you :rolleyes:

Cheers

Paul