Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

RA Offset 45deg Problem

Hi all

This is my first post, and unfortunaly i come wih a problem.

A few weeks ago I bought a Skymax 127 GoTo telescope for my lad. Since then we have had problems setting it up. We are complete novices so even the very basic are daunting at present.

The manual that came with the scope is not the best and have caused confusion from the start. This is what we are doing to set up. By the way the hand set version is 03.27.

1. The base is levelled the the mount attached. This is also levelled and pointed North. (other directions also tried)

2. Powered on.

3. Location entered....003'00' W 51'36'N

4. Time Zone....+00:00

5. Date.... 06/16/2010

6. Time....01:00:00 (24hr format)

7. Time is then confirmed (12 hr format)

8. Daylight saving >>YES

9. It then give Polaris data

10. Begin Alignment....YES

11. Alignment Method... 3, 2 or 1-Star Alignment (no brightest star option as in the manual)

I have tried all three methods. Each time the Stars are accurately choosen, (confirmed with compass and electronic angle finder then checked with Starry Nights). The scope slew no where near the stars choosen, I then used Dir Keys to navigate to the star and the cross hairs centred and then entered on hand controller.

This is where i constantly get the "RA Offset 45', "Alignment failed" problem.

I have changed the settings to every possible combination in the initial setup. Started the scope facing south, north pointing to Polaris everything i can think of to no avail.

I have search this forum but have been unable to find the answer.

If anyone can point me in the right direction (sorry, no pun intended) I would be eternally grateful. Many thanks.

Tony

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Tony,

I guess you didn't notice, but I just posted the exact same problem one thread earlier than yours!