Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I'm new at this and have a question. I've been trying to capture M51 with my Orion 8" reflector equipped with a 10mm ep and a 2x Barlow. No luck so far. Of course, the clouds keep getting in the way, as they did tonight. Is it possible to see M51 with this equipment?

Hi Jim

Should be no problem with that great scope, try looking for it without the barlow first of all, & a lower powered eyepiece. Once u have acquired the 'smudge', then increase the power. Let us know how u get on!

cheers

bob

Your 8" scope is more then capable of it.

It's more likely to do with either both your location and for sure right now, the weather conditions (wich are pretty bad due to summer and all).

I also really do not think you need to use a barlow for this one.

But most importantly. Even if it's pitch black and the sky conditions are perfect. Pretty much all nebulas and galaxies will show up only as mere fuzzies.

Only Andromeda (M31) and Orion Nebula (M42) will show up a bit brighter.

Just don't expect to see galaxies and nebulas like you see on photographs!

If you expect that, you will sorely be dissapointed.

Almost all of those photographs are taken with expensive cooled CCD cameras, as it requires very long exposure times to get that much detail out of Deep Sky Objects.

Reason is. That most of these Deep Sky Objects are just too far away and thus too faint for our naked eye to clearly see.

Our planets on the other hand, are very bright objects and will give you magnificent views.

When you see Saturn and Jupiter for the first time. You will surely be blown away! :D

You should have a look in the Sketching section of these forums. Then you will get more or less a clearer picture as to what to expect with visual observation.