NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

venus is annoying!

I've been doing this for a few months now and I'm. Loving it. The moon is great and Saturn is amazing. However Venus has never been interesting at all. It always appears to be 'bubbling' . O can barely make out a sphere never mind a phase. Why can I not see anything? Very frustrating!

yeah, that's about it. I can see the phase but you need a good collimation, good seeing and high mag. I use 240x.

When the seeing isn't perfect it bubbles and I can see some color casts which I believe are caused by the atmosphere as it becomes orange as the sun at sunset.

.... Also viewing it as early as possible before the sky is dark.

That is the approach that I like best - twilight viewing works suprisingly well on Saturn and Jupiter as well :D

Venus is also quite small at the moment.

At the eyepiece, Venus is by far the most boring of the planets visible to the naked eye. Its bright cloud cover has very subtle shading, only visible with superb instruments and to skilled observers. There is more contrast in the violet, #47 deep violet filter helps but the transmission is so low that you need 8"+ aperture to use it effectively.

The way to get the best views of Venus is to observe in full daylight, when it is at is highest and the glare problem is least. Solar heating means that the seeing is likely to be wobbly, and you do of course need to take great care to avoid getting an eyeful of solar radiation through the scope! An equatorial mount with manual setting circles, or a goto mount using "solar system" alignment on the Moon (or the Sun WITH SAFE FILTERS!!!) makes finding Venus in daylight simple.

I took a sequence of images of Venus during it's last evening apparition.

Venus_apparition%202008-2009.jpg

These images are to scale, I would guess (having not looked at Venus this time round yet) that you're at the far left at the moment.