NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Greetings from Orkney

Specman

Hello all,

Been looking at the forum for some weeks now and finally subscribed, I really enjoy reading all the great posts. I've been facinated by the stars and the universe since I was a child and I can't believe its taken me so long to buy a telescope and finally take up the hobby! Loving every minute of it!

Many thanks to Steve Graham of First Light Optics for the great customer service and being so honest and helpful in the purchase of my first scope.

Mark

Greetings, I'm sure that you are the second Ork to have registered in the last few days, are you planning an Orkney Astro Society?

The 2nd this year, the third over the years :), but I have since left Grimbister :D

Welcome to SGL Mark.

Archie

Hi Mark, :):hello2:

A big welcome to the forum and I hope you've had chance to use your kit. As a newbie myself, I'm always interested to know what other newbies have bought and what helped them make their choice.

Liked to also know what you've had chance to see and what's impressed you so far?

Clear skies :D

James

HI Mark, welcome to the forum. I fairly new to this as well. Good luck with the new telescope. I'd imagine that your sky is pretty clear of any light pollution. I'm in Stirling which isn't too bad but I was up in the Fort William area last week and was amazed with the amount of stars that I could see. It was quite confusing at first!

Thanks for the warm welcome, after a lot of research and consideration I opted for the Celestron Nexstar 4SE as my first scope, with a Revelation eyepiece set recommended to me by Steve from FLO. Its a great set, although the field of view in the 9mm Plossl is a little tight, especially if you wear spectacles. I all got a power tank and a dew shield as part of an offer and its been a godsend!