NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help with a "homemade star map" -I'm a newbie! Please!

I'm definitely extremely new around here (like a few hours old, haha) so I apologize if this thread needs to be moved or if there's something else I should be reading rather than posting this but really, this seems easiest. Anyways, my apologies.

My boyfriend is deployed to Afghanistan and soon after arriving, being the sweetheart that he is, he picked out a star that he can see out in the sky, especially around 9pm his time, that shines brighter than all the stars. He's told me about how he loves looking up at the stars, thinking of me.. ahh :(

This may be totally impossible, I really have no idea (together we plan on learning a heck of a lot more than we do now.. which is next to nothing about what we see up in that lovely night sky) but until then, I'm wondering if someone can help me out. Really, I just want to know if/what it may belong to. If it really is brighter than the others, how I can see this star here in North Carolina.. etc. He made me this star map, I attached the picture and on the left hand side there's a marking he has made and above it it says "bella" (bella is what he's nicknamed the star).

I really don't know what else to say, I'll apologize again if this is something like impossible or I've gone about this the wrong way but maybe if anything someone can point me in the right direction in regards to this! I'm excited!!

Thanks in advance! Happy Easter!!

PS- If it's any help, apparently this "bella" star is one of the brightest he sees at night. Ah, what a sweetheart!

post-19135-133877437864_thumb.jpg

Welcome to SGL