NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Planets on a budget

Hi everyone,

I have just started hauling myself out into the garden again after a long break.

Being a beginner, I have almost no clue as to what I am doing.

I already have a Meade 12" lightbridge which is fantastic for deep sky, but I am looking for something more portable that will give me some nice planetary detail. There is the catch... I need the solution to be as cheap as possible (I will probably need to sell a kidney or something). I do not want to have to sell the Lightbridge.

Do any of you fine people have any ideas?

Reflectors give the best performance/cost ratio.

The Skywatcher 6" F/8 Newtonian would be an excellent choice.....

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 150PL OTA

The optics in these scopes are excellent and at F/8 it's very easy to get precise collimation - essential for the planets. You would need a EQ5/CG5 type mount to hold it.

This would be a very capable cost effective setup.

HTH

TAL 100RS - longish refractor if you just want a planetary scope - come up from time to time complete with mount for about £120-200 but you could buy mine for about £10,000 :( its that good I wont sell it :D

Three excellent suggestions, although in this instance i'll give my vote to the Explorer 150PL. A simply superb planetary scope for a tight budget, shame it's not the bargain it was early last year with the price doubling over night last spring.

Hi everyone.

Thanks to all of you for taking the time to reply to my post. Your fantastic advice is very appreciated! This has definately helped me narrow the choice down. Despite the clear Skywatcher being the clearly prefered choice, I think I am going to have to consider the size of the ota and the cost of providing a mount as I am limited in both cash and storage. The Skymax 127 looks like the more sensible option for me at the moment. I need to also consider that I would love to have crack at imaging with a webcam.