NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Looking for M65 and M66

Jove

I spent a little while over the weekend trying to hunt down M65 and M66 in Leo, to no avail, alas. Are any more experiecned DSO hunters able to suggest what might be going wrong?

Possibilities I can think of - in order of likeliness - are:

- I'm looking in the wrong place. Although I am fairly new to star hopping and so on I have checked what I am seeing against some maps, and am relatively confident I am looking in the right place. The only thing that makes me doubt my location is that the star field looked right, but there was absolutely nothing there, no trace of brightness where I was expecting to find it.

- Wrong magnification. I've been using the widest field eyepiece I have (40mm, giving a mag. of 37.5x). I've had a look around with a 20mm too (75x) - I understand that galaxies need a

- They're too faint for my scope. I'm using the Skywatcher 5" Maksutov - not particularly cut out for deep sky work, I know. I can see stars beyond Mag. 10, but with extended DSOs I suppose the surface brightness may be too low even if the listed magnitude looks as though I should be able to pick it up.

- Too much LP. I'm in London, so LP is a big problem. With a dark adapted eye I can see down to Mag. 4 at zenith, but this falls rapidly with decreaing altitude. Below about 20 degrees only stars up to about Mag 2 are visible. Leo was farily high (I should have noted it down!), with Theta Leonis visible to the dark adapted naked eye.

- I'm looking for the wrong thing. I'm looking for a bit of a smudge in the sky, a bit like how M31 looks through binoculars. Might it be that I'm seeing the bright nuclei of the galaxies and mistaking them for stars? There are two HIP-something stars in the same neck of the woods that I wondered if they might be the galaxies, before realising they were to the east of my 'landmark' line of three stars where as I should be looking to the west.