Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Using a Refractor

I'm new to astronomy and have recently bought a Celestron Omni 120mm refractor.

The scope ticks all the right boxes but I have a problem using the finderscope to locate items right overhead. When I point the telescope in that direction the finderscope is only about 18 inches from the ground (the tripod is fully extended). To look through it I almost need to lie down as I cannot bend sufficiently to twist my head around to look through the finderscope. The main scope is fine as I have a star diagonal. There does not seem to be anywhere else to locate the finderscope.

Is this a common problem or is there a simple solution?

Hopefully this is not a silly question and there is a simple solution. Any help will be appreciated.

Mike ;)

hi Mike

I have the same scope and had exactly the same problem. there are two solutions you could try. one is a right angled finder. these are not as 'intuitive' as a straight through finder but less craning on the neck. the other is to raise your mount higher up. I tried the 90 degree finder but don't really get on with it and am considering selling it - this is not a sales email as I have not made up my mind yet ;0)

there are a few options in how to raise your mount height.

your could get some longer section stainless tubing and replace the ones on the tripod. this might be the easier and cheaper option possibly. the other is the one I adopted which is to replace the tripod legs on another aluminium tripod with hardwood. I am 6'3" and made my tripod to measure. the mount now stands about 5'6" off the ground now and is much easier to use I still need to kneel occasionally but it's a lot better and I can use the main eyepiece sitting down in my chair while looking at the zenith.

I suppose another still is to mount a telrad or rigel quickfinder onto the tube and this would have the same effect?

hope this helps. I gree it's an excellent scope.

Hi MJP