Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Orion with C.9.25 and canon 1000D ?

I am a total rookie in astrophotography to utilize DSLR in order to take DSO images.

Can anyone advice simple canon 1000D setting( ISO, Aperture ", F, custom settings) for the above set up to image Orion ?

I do have Celestron 6.3 reducer to make the scope faster.

Many thanks in advance.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I assume you have all the adaptors/ spacers to fit the camera to the scope. You don't use the camera lens when imaging through the scope.

You don't say which mounting you are using, but I assume its an equatorial mount.

I would suggest ISO 200, RAW and use a TC80 remote control ( or clone) to allow you to vary the exposures with minimum vibration.

Start with 30sec exposures and depending on the accuracy of your polar alignment and drive go up to 1 or 2 mins.

If you can get 10 or twenty images these can be stacked (DSS) to build up the image.

Thank you Merlin for your advice,

yes, it is CG-5GT and I have all adapters to use with the camera T ring and T Adapter. I am planning to use camera body attached to C.9.25 through reducer to make my focal faster.

I have rarely used my 1000D and completely unaware what the best settings for DSO.

If you could lay out aperture ", F settings, and custom setting for this particular set up which would enable me to take some images of Orion. Please bear in mind that I am complete novice when it comes to DSLR and DSO. Although I have been imaging Solar planets heavily last year with DBK21.

Many thanks.

When you use the canon at the prime focus ( or using the reducer) the telescope controls both the aperture and the f ratio.

Think of it as a 9.25" aperture f6.3 telelens.

That just leaves you to control the exposure time and the ISO setting.... see the previous message....

Ken