SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which image processing software?

Space Bat

What are peoples thought on a good photo-processing software ?

I guess Adobe Photoshop CS4 is king?

But I have seen various astrophotgraphy processing platforms some free others trial and pay...etc can anyone offer an opinion on some of the lesser known stuff?

Quite interested in the PixInsight as some have showed there efforts here....but looks quite indepth so a bit wary...as a complete newb to photo imagaing/processing software...

So what should I be going for?

Chris

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I went the PixInsight route - there's a trial for a month where you can use the software fully and I was (am) also effectively a processing novice so I didn't have years worth of Photoshop knowledge to influence my decision.

James

I have GIMP - OK for working with images from the DFK but not good for the DSLR images being 8bit..

Still waiting for the trial licence keys for PixInsight ;) May try and apply again - how long should this take ??

Tried AstroArt which looks promising - but stamps Demo across the image :) not friendly or convincing me to part money.

Had a quick go with image J - not sure about it - need to have more of a play...

Chris

Hi Chris

Did you get your demo licence for Pixinsight , which is now 45 days ;)

Let us know and I will what I can do

Harry

Hi,

Yes I did the other day (thanks for the offer), wow its going to take a while to get my noggin round this software, crikey I need 45 days to see what all the functions do ;)

Had a quick play and visited their online tutorials - and have been very impressed with some of the stuff it can do and have only scratched the surface.

Chris

Well I think I have the DSO software licked now seeing what PixInsight can do - so will strong possibility will end up purchasing..