NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Some thoughts on observing

MishMich

I'm fairly new to this (bought my first scope in September), and I find with the 8" SPX or 5" Meade & a 6mm eyepiece, Mars is an orb, and it is very bright. I get glimpses of detail, hints really, and a hint of colour, but it is washed out because it is so bright.

This is why I image - at least I get to see a bit of detail of what I am looking at, and a record of it. But it doesn't quite match up to seeing it.

Saturn and Jupiter are (for me) most rewarding, because I can clearly see the Galilean moons, and make out the bands, and Saturn's ring(s) as well as two or three of its moons if I am lucky.

100 years ago, with a 1.5 meter reflector, Lowell charted canals on Mars, and these were only disproved half a century later. People have had problems with Mars using telescopes more powerful than we are likely to ever own. I admire people who observe and sketch Mars, but I have no idea how they manage it - maybe my eyes are too old, although perhaps if I spent more time just looking, I would see more.

I do now and then resist the urge to swap a camera for the eyepiece, and just watch - but it takes a long time for my eyes to start seeing what is there. Perhaps when I get used to the idea that these objects aren't going anywhere in a hurry (and when they do, they'll be back again), I'll be able to forget about trying to capture them and just spend time looking instead.

I still get the same sense of wonder when I look at Saturn as the first time I saw it, and the same for Jupiter and its moons (although I've not seen Jupiter for a few weeks now, and suspect I won't be seeing him for a while again). At least I can see the planets, apart from a glimpse of M31 and some of the nebulosity of M42, Pleiades and Hyades, I've not managed much in the way of deep space observing.