NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi All, please help

Lisa001

:) I am new to this.

I have had my telescope since November it is a Skymax 127 and haven't been able to work it properly, which has kind of put me off.

The last couple of nights have been really clear and haven't managed to get anywhere with it at all....

Have I bought the wrong telescope?

Alignment I guess, I am really impatient.

Also it is running on batteries and I the screen keeps fading. I have been told to get a power pack, do you think this will help?

But on a positive note I did get a great look at the moon! only it goes out of view in minutes, don't know how to get it to move with the object, this will be down to the fact I can't align it properly... hey ho, will have another bash tonight!

I really am desperate to see something special, just so I can be happy that I have acheived something with it! It cost my £354 too so you can imagine my dissapointment when I have spent all that money and still no luck.....

I did do some reasearch into buying a telescope, but I am a beginner with a capital B.... no clue at all, the interest it way up there though!

Hi and welcome to SGL, Lisa. :) Are you having a focus problem? Very often, new scope owners tend to turn the focus knob too quickly and pass the 'in-focus' position without realizing it.

Hi Talitha

I think I do turn the focus knob too quickly as well! Too heavy handed i guess...

I have been reading up on my 'beginners guide' to learn more on the night sky too, can't wait to start seeing them with this thing!

Lisa - you will have to align it to get it to track. There are plenty of 127 owners on here so maybe they can help with the power. I dont know what they run off normally but nbatteries can really suffer in the cold and it may be they just dont have enough oooomph.

I have a Nexstar 4 which is similar but not identical and if I put AA batteries in it they are gone in a few hours.