Slightly dissapointed

Hey guys, new to this so any help will be great!!

I purchased a new 10" Dobsonian Skywatcher, until tonight i have only been able to use it on the moon.

Earlier tonight i took it out to the garden to have a look at mars, i tried both eyepieces both the 25 and 10 mil but at best all i could see was a 2 or 3 ml spot at best, was very very small and as such impossible to see detail. I diddnt expect the hubble but expected at least a little bit more from a scope of this size. Do i need better EP? Or anything else i can do for a better look?

Thank you from a complete beginner.

Maybe but try first a higher magnification. Detail will only be visible during periods of good seeing and using at least x200.

Wait till Mars is high in the sky and with a 10" scope you will definitely see detail.

That is about the size you will get with your telescope / eyepice combination.

http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm will give you some idea of the size of eyepiece required for a larger image. Atmospheric conditions can dictate the maximum magnification. Yout 250 should be able to achieve 300x max. The 10mm eyepiece gave you a magnification of 120x so you have plenty to spare.

Peter

Peter

I use a 10 inch scope and at x100 Mars is just as you describe a small orange blob with little or no detail. Add my x2 barlow and now your talking much better sized image, still a little small though, with detail such as polar caps clearly visible. Add the x3 barlow, if seeing is good enough, and Mars really comes alive lots of surface colour visible as well as both poles.

Earth is moving away from Mars now at quite a pace over Feb Mars will begin to look smaller.