Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Why

dark knight

I'm curious as to why we need to take more than one dark and one flat. Can we not just take one of each and just duplicate them in PS4, or is it so that there is some randomness in their generation?

You can tell I'm new to the dark side can't you....

I just let my 450D take my darks etc for me. Once i get into stacking images i guess i will start doing everything manually. I believe that duplicating images and stacking doesnt work because you are only stacking the same data ontop of itself and this wont improve the image. So by that i guess different frames contain different data and improve the overall image when stacked.

All darks produce random noises from the electical static in the camera that gets onto the sensor.

Lights also have random noise, but the true data is always in the same place.

So stacking lights reduces the random noise, then applying the darks removes the rest as well as hot pixels.

If you only add one dark, your are actually adding noise to your stack as the randomness has not been removed.

My web site has an article on all this under the Basics section.

Hey Cat,

Just taken a look at your site....looks very promising..:)

I have learned again something new - which is the noise issue on the DSLR which I have enabled as I thought this would help...and yes it takes a long time to process the image...

Will see what I get when this is disabled.....

Chris

Hey Cat,

Just taken a look at your site....looks very promising..:)

I have learned again something new - which is the noise issue on the DSLR which I have enabled as I thought this would help...and yes it takes a long time to process the image...

Will see what I get when this is disabled.....

Chris