NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

ISS with a 60mm refractor?

Is it possible? If so, I'd very much like to know how I can go about spotting it? I have Stellarium but obviously that isn't set up to track something like this. Is there anything else I can use to track it? I'm very new to this in general so maybe I'm setting my aims a little high...

You're biggest challenge is going to be tracking it. I don't know what mount you have, but it's going to have to track very fast to keep up. You might find if you mount your scope on a camera tripod, release all tension in the joints, that will allow you to find and track the ISS as it passes. I'd expect, you'd be able to see some shape in the structure. Probably want to keep to lower magnifications and get used to tracking it, before venturing to use higher powers.

I've just installed the plugin for Stellarium and DAYUM they're fast! I heard they're fast but I didn't expect that. I'll have a go at using the lowest magnification then and see if I can spot it at all tonight, I will post pictures if I get anything!

It is a dot, a bright dot but a dot.

It will probably be moving too fast to track reasonably with a scope unless the field of view is quite big, which means low magnification. So we are back to a bright dot:D:D:D

The best I have found is to stand patiently getting cold and find it by eye, then use binoculars.

i actually got caught by surprise by the ISS a week ago (embarassing to say the least) had the dobs out but no eyepieces with me as it was cooling down, i managed to track the ISS witht he finder and once i got "tuned in" to the motion it was surprising ly easy to keep it in view. the next time its visable early morning here i intend to have a serious go at viewing it, probably with the C80 ED / AZ3 combination with everything slackened off.