Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Barnsley

ashworthacca

Hi to everyone on the forum.

I'm an absolute beginner in Astronomy and after many visits to my nearest shop bought a Celestron Nexstar 5 SE. I have had the chance to give it a quick try a few nights ago basically to get to grips with the goto etc.

One question if I may....The scope comes with a bubble level that you use before you put the OTA on the mount. I will be keeping the scope fully setup on the mount all the time (initially using it in the back garden). What's the easiest way to level it fully assembled using the bubble level?? If this is not possible what would you guys recommend?

Back to topic, I actually got into star gazing last tear on holiday in Greece. Me and the wife went for a stroll on the beach at midnight and it was pitch black.......the number of stars you could see was unbelievable and a sight to behold. From that day I said that I needed to get a Telescope.

I'm a Chartered Certified Accountant and am a partner in a local practice. I'm a keen golfer with a 8 handicap and I'm also into photography.

I'm looking forward to enjoying and contributing to the forums as much as I can.

Regards

Martin

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi welcome to the forum.

Perhaps you could put a couple slabs leveled in your garden which you can sit it on everytime if your tripod is locked it shouldnt be too far off each time. (it might not work im pretty new to all this myself - sorry if it doesnt!)

p.s how did you get down to 8 im more like 38! lol

Paul

First of all a warm welcome from a fellow novice.

My apologies if I am being blindingly stupid here, but I thought you levelled the mount by adjusting the legs of your tripod?

Don't take my word for it, because I am only a couple of weeks into owning a scope myself. That’s just what I assumed, as it appears the most obvious thing to do? :D

Thanks for the welcome Andy:)