Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Antares sentinal review (comp entry)

ANTARES SENTINEL 80MM SEMI-APO REFRACTOR

Prices: care of James and Maria at scope’n’skies

OTA and case £219.00

OTA bundle £249.99

OTA bundle c/w EQ £299.00

ALL prices included first class delivery (usually next day, please be aware that prices may have changed since my purchase)

Company Background:

Antares is the brand name used by the company sky instruments.

Sky instruments have 23 yrs experience of supplying quality astronomical equipment to both novice and advanced astronomers alike. Glen Speers and his dedicated staff both import and manufacture there own components providing an ever increasing range of telescopes, eyepieces and accessories.

The company is based in Richmond, British Colombia, Canada.

My background:

I am 47 yrs old and live in Chelmsford in Essex. I am relatively new to astronomy but have been looking through telescopes at the stars ever since childhood and the magic has ever worn off.

I am disabled with limited mobility and cannot carry heavy or awkward items.

My observing site is light polluted as im on the edge of town but I refuse to give up and have been rewarded with some wonderful views at times of good “seeing”

I have owned a number of telescopes but found that my disability dictates the instruments I can safely use on my own.

I currently own a revelation 10” dobsonian that has been mounted on an aluminium truck to allow me to move/use it. I recently sold my etx 90 as I found it difficult to move outside and the weight of it on the tripod was getting to much for me, consequently I found I wasn’t using it very much.

I find that “grab-and-go” best describes my observing sessions when im on my own as this allows me to grab and hour or so when I feel up to it. Longer sessions are usually reserved for when my brother visits.

We have recently finished refurbishing his 10” reflector and converting it to a dobsonian.