Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Want tot learn to read the sky, wherre do I start?

I have a planisphere and star chat and know where north is, but tbh it all looks ridiulously complex to a newbie.

My garden is pretty dark, there are tonnes of stars outside with the naked eye, and there is one really bright star on its own, I am not sure if it is jupiter but it seems to be in the right location to the link below

To find polaris I need to face north, and then look up 45 degrees (my latitude) and there should be polaris somewhere :s But tbh nothing stands out, just stars everywhere

Astronomy Bristol Home Page

this is what my sky should roughly look like ^

-

What else is there to do?

I cant see the full sky in my garden, but the front of the house is just full of street lighting

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi....I am also new to astronomy :)

It all seems a bit overwhelming to me - there is just so much to know about!!! :)

I decided to take it in little chunks....I find a constellation I can recognise and look at the stars in it to get familiar with them and then I use Stellarium (free software - Google it) to see if there is anything interesting nearby.

Maybe you should concentrate on the Plough as this will lead you to Polaris.

I don't have any form of guidance on my scope so I need to be able to pick things out. I use the red dot finder to get to near where I need to be, then scan around a bit. Usually I end up finding what I was looking for.

Each time I find a new object I keep going back to it to well and truly learn how to find it again. This seems to be working - I can now go to 6 Messier objects at will and the veil nebula too :)

It is fun to learn how to find things for myself, but it is a very gradual process I think.

There are many very friendly and helpful people here who I'm sure will make much wiser statements than mine :D

I hope you have fun learning about this fascinating (if expensive!) hobby.

Steph