Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Introduction

richardc

Paul Kent (narrowbandpaul) and I have been corresponding for some time. He has interest in narrowband imaging and since I was the fellow that pioneered it for the amateur community we found each other. He recommended that I join this forum for a bit of European perspective.

I have been working in the semiconductor industry since 1977, designing a lot of CPU and memory chips for the past 32 years for companies like Intel, Motorola, Rambus and several others. My first chip design was the Motorola MC68000 CPU, a real ground breaker when it was introduced in 1980.

I am a hard core semicondutor guy, a design geek that loves semiconductor device physics and all things technical related to semiconductor technology.

I only took up astronomy for a hobby in late 2000, and got into imaging at the beginning of December of 2000. It has been a lot of fun.

I like to do things my own way so I quickly tired of RGB and trying to do what everyone else was doing so I created the narrowband method used by amateurs starting in mid 2001. Two years ago I began experimenting with Stokes Parameter imaging usign orthogonal polarizers. So far not many have expressed interest in that as they have in my narrowband work.

These days I am applying my semiconductor knowledge to image sensor technology and have been tearing into the low level details of image sensors. I am keenly interested in developing scientific CMOS image sensors. So if anyone is interested in funding a startup company to do this contact me off list. I presented a paper at the SPIE's "Electronic Imaging" conference on RBI in January of this year. It was hobby work but got into a professional conference.