Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M31 First Proper Attempt 80ED

Phantom

nice like it alot, the scope you use, is it the Celestron c80 edr that flow are selling ?

would like one myself, also where did you buy the 1000d from ? have just made up my mind today to buy one but don`t know the best place to buy from as i`m new to dslr`s,

cheers Rob

The galaxy is just starting to appear. I tried to bring more out, but there is not enough there I'm afraid, though I'm no processing expert. I think a lot more data is needed. I know it's difficult when your subs durations are limited, that's why you need a lot more of them. You have the Ideal camera for the job though.

Ron.:D

Am quite happy with the outcome as I think the focus is pretty much spot on and without a goto and pretty light polluted skies plus the moon being up I found M31 straight away. I think if you squint and use you imagination you can just maybe make out the dust lanes and is that M32 and M110 in the shot aswell?

Yes the scope is the Celestron 80ED bought mine from FLO and am really happy with it. I bought the camera with 18-55mm lens kit from Argos only because it was the cheapest place that had it in stock, am very happy with this camera as well.

could they be hot pixels? As the mount was an ALT AZ, the field would rotate slightly, but the hot pixels would stay in the same place, or in reverse, DSS would keep the field in the same place, but the hot pixels would rotate (although they're not exactly going in an arc, so maybe wrong. I did get something like that when I stacked ALT/AZ subs though - ah it would also be down to the tracking which may not be perfect so DSS may have jiggled it a bit to align the stars. hence the snake shapes).

PS, that's a huge amount of detail you've brought out from very little data, I'm amazed again!