NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi everyone + Newbie question

Harmartolos

Hi from not so sunny Cornwall, :)

I'm just getting into astronomy but have been interested for years.

I've done the binocular thing, but what has really got me interested is my Son bought me a secondhand Meade refractor (60mm) on Ebay - quite literally with his pocket money, and it has blown me away.

So far I've been out looking at Jupiter and the Moon (weather permitting) and find I am keen to go further.

My question is; are the cheap German 6" & 8" Newtonians from Seben, Sylvan etc on Ebay any good for the money (about £150 with p&p), or should I go for the smaller Celestron & Skywatcher 4.5" which cost about the same? I'm far too impetous to save my pennies for any longer.

Many thanks:)

Hi Harmartolos (interesting name!) from just as not-sunny Devon! From what I have heard, the Seben optics are not brilliant - but I hasten to say that's only hearsay and I apologise to any Seben owners for any offence!! However, I am certain that if you spend your loot on a Skywatcher scope, you will not be disappointed - I can say that from experience. If you hang on a while, you will get many more opinions from SGL members with far more experience than I.

Welcome to SGL :)

My instinct is to go with the best you can afford. Skywatcher are fabulous, I have a 5" (this one in fact Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 130PM ) and I have been so pleased with its performance. As they say, 'buy cheap buy twice.' Stick to the quality brands that receive brilliant reviews and you won't go far wrong - also, if you buy from a proper telescope dealer, they should be able to give you impartial (and most importantly) correct advice on your purchase - it's the most important astronomy purchase you'll ever make in my opinion, setting you on the road to discovery.

Welcome to SGL :)