Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Refractor recommendations re: Skywatcher

Hello all

I am looking at different options for a refractor for general astronomical work, but something for really myself and my wife to use. I have a lot of background theory in astronomy and astrophysics, in addition to comparative planetology (I'm a geologist by training!).

I am trying to decide on a good compromise bewteen price, size (and weight) and functionality for primary target work on the Moon and planets, and also for scanning the sky for interesting objects. Basically something portable from the house to the garden.

I have got to a choice of the Skywatcher Evostar (F8-F10) and StarTravel (short tube - F5) ranges, mainly because of cost. In terms of objective, I am thinking of 102-120mm for a reasonable size. Which would be best for Lunar and planetary studies? We have some binoculars which are good for wide-field views, but obviously no comparison with a proper astronomical telescope.

Found another option with the Meade Bresser (Messier) range, similar specs but a bit more expensive.

The skies around our way are a bit variable, so sometimes it's good seeing conditions and other times not - so I would not be looking to push magnification too much beyond 100x.

If people have other suggestions, I would be most interested to hear.

Thanks

Lester

For achromat refractors such as the ones you're looking at, the longer the focal ratio, the less false colour you will detect when looking at bright objects, so I'd look at the Evostars over the Startravels if you're looking at Lunar and Planetary observing. I've never used the 100 but I've seen Jupiter through a 120 and looked pretty good to me.

HTH

Tony..

Hello Lester and welcome to SGL.

These are just the same as Skywatcher refractors (all made by Synta) and are very good value for money and will perform well on the planets .....

Clearance / Pre-Owned - Celestron Omni XLT 102