Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Focusing is simple with a bahtinov mask

Maybe I got very lucky, but, for anyone struggling with manually focusing anything, like me as a noob, I would highly recommend a bahtinov mask.

Any Nobel prize committee members reading this, please consider putting Mr/Dr Bahtinov up for a suitable prize :)

I just dangled the mask from two plastic screws on end of the dew shield and was expecting to barely see the pattern :)

also, anyone struggling in Nina to choose a star to slew to focus on,  click the manual focus icon (rotated star) and choose one from the list :) Nina slew right to it and didn't even plate solve. Not sure how that works but not complaining:)

IMG_20240406_234800.jpg

Edited by TiffsAndAstro
  • Like 4

2 minutes ago, Knighty2112 said:

Yep, I am visual observer too and I use this method pretty much every time, unless the moon is on show when I might use that to get sharp focus.

i was very worried id need something really bright like jupiter for it to work.  Even the dim stars nowhere near center of my view had them :)

just ordered one for my guide scope.

I have been using a Bahtoniv Mask for years.  I believe Pav Bahtinov not only did not patent his mask, and got little royatlties from it only from some companies who generously thought he deserved it.  I thought I had heard he had since died, but can't seem to find anything on googling,  

I googled it to check and found this interview with him in Russian with sub titles in 2019

Edited by carastro
  • Like 1

8 minutes ago, carastro said:

I have been using a Bahtoniv Mask for years.  I believe Pav Bahtinov not only did not patent his mask, and got little royatlties from it only from some companies who generously thought he deserved it.  I thought I had heard he had since died, but can't seem to find anything on googling,  

I googled it to check and found this interview with him in Russian with sub titles in 2019