SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What time ??

As a new comer to astronomy, I do wonder if I’ve picked the wrong hobby . 🤣 I’m a baker I go to work at 3am ( which often has lovely clear skies) I obviously go to bed around 10pm ( doesn’t leave me a lot of time , if any in the summer ) often 6-10pm seems cloudy . So my question is what time do you all go out observing and how long for . I do live in a Bortle 5 /6 so I only have to get outside. 

Go to bed at 8 and have a couple of hours before you leave at 3am? Early hours are often better as the land and buildings have cooled so the air is likely to be stiller.

• Like 2

For deep sky objects the night sky isn’t dark enough for most targets during the summer months. So most observations are outside of summer anyway. 

Personally  and in my location (I’m in an urban environment) the sky is darkest between 1 and 3am. So you can always do what @Stu suggests.

However, I also do white light solar which is obviously daytime and even some planetary (eg Venus) during daylight hours too. It doesn’t need to be all nighttime stuff!

• Like 1

That’s not a bad shout . Obviously I have weekends . Fortunately I live in a market town and I’m at the edge so it gets dark here pretty quick . I hadn’t really noticed how rare clear skies are untill I got my scope 🤣

• Like 1

I feel your pain (a bit).  I work rotation, 12 hour shifts 0600 to 1800 or 1800 to 0600 with a 1 hour commute each way, so I have to be up about 0400. On the plus side I get 2 weeks off completely between shifts.

I'll often get up early (around 0200) for a quick session, but that relies on me getting to be early that night and the next night to recover. 

My observing style when I'm on shift is basically an astronomical scavenger.  And clear and hopefully dark skies are worth a punt even if I only get one object in.