Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Siril Novice Alert !

Hi all

I'm a total newb to Siril, using it for the first time today. Just following a simple processing tutorial on a TIF image (previously stacked using DSS - 16 bit). I've got as far as background extraction and hit a snag, the 'apply' button is greyed out and I can’t work out why. Did a quick google and can't find an answer to this so I thought I'd just ask here. Sure I’m missing something really obvious and will no doubt look foolish, but you've got to start somewhere !

Thanks

siril.thumb.jpg.c6499cd2932788f2f18c57b3c27195ef.jpg

10 minutes ago, Spaced Out said:

Did a quick google and can't find an answer to this so I thought I'd just ask here. Sure I’m missing something really obvious and will no doubt look foolish, but you've got to start somewhere !

It could be the blind leading the blind here (!) but have you clicked "Compute Background" yet?  

• Thanks 1

8 minutes ago, geeklee said:

It could be the blind leading the blind here (!) but have you clicked "Compute Background" yet?  

Brilliant ! Thanks. I thought I did but nothing happened. Just restarted and tried it again tho and it has worked ! However, it produced this 🤔 , I'm guessing there is a setting somewhere that I need to work out.

siril2.thumb.jpg.e6f2e9eb92f800c5ccc469dfcc0c82b7.jpg...

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, Spaced Out said:

I'm guessing there is a setting somewhere that I need to work out.

While I doubt this is causing the tunnel effect - Generally I would move a few of the background points off the very faint tails of M51 just to give you the best chance of proper background (I'm being quite coarse here, you may not need to remove/move the same amount).  If you think your background is quite simple, you could also increase the smoothing.  M51 is looking really good and a nice overall FOV!

image.png.a283bb0597932fc0c304516e6b2eab3a.png