Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Neat solution for placing bits n bobs?

GasGiant

Hey folks

What do you recon to this ? 

This a MK1 idea theory tester I had for a simple 'table top' storage space for the usual bits and bobs when observing.  Im new to astronomy but I figured most people use a load of different bits and bobs when observing and having them 'just there' has gotta be super handy & better than dragging out a table or having stuff in pockets ? 

Looking at the images its pretty self ex-planetary  ( see what I did there ? ) There is no screwing together It all locks in together.  I made it flat pack so its easy to put up, take down and store.

The scope can 'Dobviously' swing right up to the vertical and near horizontal position. The friction knobs can still be used.

Dob users, what do you recon 🙂 

I made this in my small workshop as a proto but if there is potential interest I may make a MK2, a bit prettier and with thicker wood etc. 

Carl 

20240104_092341.jpg

20240104_092356.jpg

20240104_092407.jpg

20240104_092420.jpg

20240104_092437.jpg

20240104_092502.jpg

Edited by GasGiant
  • Like 10

I really like that, why don't you drill 1.25" and 2" holes in the board, in the manner of the eypiece holder on the side of the rockerbox? I would try build myself something similar, but I dont think it would work with the alt bearing design of Bresser / ES Dobs.

Edited by Astronomist
  • Like 1

If possible, it is best to keep optical accessories such eyepieces, filters and barlow lenses slightly warmer than the outside temperature. If they get too cold they have the tendency to fog as you use them from the warmth of your face and eye socket. 

For non-optical accessories your flat shelf could be useful.