NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Upgrade for DSO Astrophotography

Greetings everyone, I would like to ask you for advice since I would like to go deeper in this wonderful hobby of us. I started using a telescope a couple years ago with a mak 127 with an alt-az mount GoTo, with which I was able to study the sky, understanding the main constellations and losing myself in Saturn rings and Jupiter stripes and moons.

I now would like to take a step into DSO astrophotography, I tried to use my Scope with an old DSLR (a Nikon D3200), but the results are quite underwhelming as I'm a total photography noob and I'm still trying to understand ISO and exposure time balance: DSS only recognise 2 or 3 stars in my M31 photos and is not able to stack them together.

Based on some youtube videos and online articles, I've put down a list of gear to buy, as I hope to get better results in my photo sessions.

The Items I'm willing to get are the Skywatcher Star Adventurer GTi and a Redcat 51 telescope. In a near future I would get a guidescope with a camera.

So I'm now asking to you if this purchase is a gamechanger in learning how to get proper shoots or I should wait and practice more with my current setup?

• Like 2

Greetings to you.

I would definitely keep practicing with your current set up before leaping into further astrophotography. I think many of us started with the basics of Alt Az astrophotography. Myself I started with my AzGti and Canon 450d then 600D and learnt so much. Then I was ready to get into eq astrophotography. 

Your 127 mak will be great for brighter dso's, some galaxies and lunar/planetary. Though a Widefield scope with a shorter focal length is better on many fainter dso's. A William Optics or skywatcher Ed range are nice scopes and even the Redcat as you say.