Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tycho, image VS visual

SwiMatt

Disclaimer: noob here!

I was observing the Moon with my 10x50 and comparing the observed feature with this picture:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File%3AMoon_names.svg

Yesterday I think that Tycho emerged from the shadow (based on its position with respect to what is labelled as Mare Nubium), however I am not sure since this picture shows completely different light patterns. In the linked image, Tycho looks very bright and central (white with radial stripes coming out of it), but in my binoculars I see it as an area full of craters where none of them really emerges as dominant. 

I was wondering if a) I'm a full-on noob and somehow misinterpreting the picture, or b) if not a), whether the difference between pic and reality is due to the instrument I'm using or it's a result of stacked pictures with long exposure.

Soon I'll get a book dedicated to Moon observations, but I couldn't wait to satisfy my curiosity :)

Much depends on the lighting at any given time. For example, when Tycho is close to the terminator, the boundary between day and night, the shadows are dominant craters can look very similar. However, when the Moon is nearer full, Tycho becomes very evident as in the picture. It's best to observe the Moon throughout a lunation to see how the features change. In time you'll become familiar with the terrain and be able to recognise which crater is which.

• Like 2

9 minutes ago, mikeDnight said:

Much depends on the lighting at any given time. For example, when Tycho is close to the terminator, the boundary between day and night, the shadows are dominant craters can look very similar. However, when the Moon is nearer full, Tycho becomes very evident as in the picture. It's best to observe the Moon throughout a lunation to see how the features change. In time you'll become familiar with the terrain and be able to recognise which crater is which.