SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First attempt at capturing The Heart Nebula & Soul Nebula.

I used my Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer Pro, Canon 600D, Canon EF 75-300mm Lens f/4-5.6 (135mm focal length in this session in manual focus) to photograph this image, at a 16 minute exposure unfortunately, I did polar align the mount but the problem was that I used a ballhead at first attempt since it was hard trying to aim to the target the RA and Dec clamps. I left it out doing it's job for over an hour but it didn't go as planned as the camera dewed over and the camera slewed slowly out of place overtime. I used 50 lights and 45 darks, this is my first attempt of photographing this.

You can definitely tell the shape of the Soul nebula and Heart nebula, if I had an hour exposure it could have showed better results.

Hopefully this progress will improve as I have more experience in this each session.

Result.thumb.png.0246bfbb60990bdc2bf324081f9f6112.png

Please help me and give suggestions which is key for future improvement.

Cheers and clear skies.

William

Great start!

My best advice would be to keep trying to refine the basics. When it comes to unguided subs, its getting the basics spot on that make a good image.

(1) Polar alignment + Sharp focus = Good images

You want to be able to consistently produce 30 - 60 second images that have no trail and are sharp. I am not familiar with the SA (I used a SGP) but I am sure they are pretty similar. PA, take some test shots, zoom in on the 600D and check the stars. With a decent PA, there should be no trail in most of your images at your focal length.

Again, not familiar with focusing using a DSLR lens (outside of a 14mm i set at infinity), are you able to use a bahtinov mask with it? Will help you focus. You can always do it by eye, but getting good focus like that is hit and miss. Even with a B mask I am not happy with my focus sometimes :D