Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

test report for OO 12" f6 SPX newtonian

Hi all, My scope will be delivered this week, Ive just had my first look at the test report, which quite frankly looks astounding, I'm no expert at reading these things but from what i do know, its certainly one of ( if not the best ) report Ive ever seen from Orion. It may be overkill but clearly this mirror will never be a limiting factor for lunar and planetary imaging. Only the atmosphere will be.

I'm pretty excited by this report, Though i know some have reservations about the validity of a zygo test, i Am certainly interested in what others think, if they have seen any OO reports, or any others come to that. I cant wait to get this under the night sky. Need to think about wind breakers as the scope is 8" longer than my 10" which used to blow around quite a lot.( though that was on a vixen GP all being equal I'm guessing the see saw effect will be similar to that. but hopefully not any worse considering I'm now using a EQ6, Pictures of my new setup i will probably post next week. Scary strehl ratio

3340997735_298f955cd3_o.png

Hi

Congratulations on the new scope. It will give you some fantastic views. The test results are about what I would expect from an OO 12" f/6 with 1/10PV mirror. The results are within the normal range. As the size goes up and focal lengths get faster it's a bit harder to get higher Strehl numbers.

Don't let people try to put you off the validity of a Zygo test. They are deadly accurate and are the only way to verify the quality of a mirror, but the testing equipment and associated expenses mean a lot of mirror makers can't afford it and they only have the Ronchi and Foucault tests to estimate the quality of their mirrors.

Here's a quote from Optical Mechanics (they make dobs up to 48 inches) that sums it up pretty well: