Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star trails and Long exposures help

Maho

Hello everyone

I'm new to astrophotography and have noticed that when I take an exposure longer than 15-20 seconds, I start seeing star trails.

I live in a Bortle 8 site and would like to take longer exposures but have no idea how to a avoid the trailing issue.

Below pic is of Vega which was captured with a 20 sec sub and even here you can see elongated stars.

I have a Skywatcher 130PDS, Ioptron CEM25P and a Canon 550d.

What should I double check? Is it balancing? Collimation? Polar alignment? I usually do a 2 star alignment as I find it difficult to see lots of bright stars from my location? Should I try a 3 star alignment?

Any tips and advice would be greatly received.

IMG-20210831-WA0000.thumb.jpg.12bd35984e86a30e755f4287597ff89a.jpg

If you don't guide - well, start guiding.

Mounts have imperfections in gears and that results in something called periodic error. Sometimes mount tracks a bit faster and sometimes a bit slower (think ellipse instead of perfect circle). It happens on a period of revolution of out of shape gear - hence the name periodic error.

You can try periodic error correction if your mount is capable of it (either in hand controller or if you connect it to computer), but that is limited in scope of what it can do. It can minimize the error - but not remove it completely in most cases.

Solution is to start guiding.

If you are already guiding - well, you are either not guiding good (wrong parameters) or there is differential flexure between guide and imaging scope. Former can be addressed by setting proper guide parameters while latter requires better connection between components.

• Like 1

The star alignment routines are entirely unconnected with your tracking accuracy. They are only related to the precision with which the GoTo operates.