Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A novice seeking advice.

I have a couple of 30yr oldish Refactor’s, a Helios Telescope D=120mm, F1000mm and a Soligor D=93mm, F1000mm.

Ok being a total novice I thought I could improve the quality by purchasing a better eye piece, currently I have a Plossl 25mm as attached photo, so I bought the Celestron X-Cel LX 18mm.

Using a daylight test of a tree some 150m away I’m not certain there is very much difference in image quality.

Have I just learnt a lesson that the scopes aren’t that good, the X-Cel doesn’t match the scopes, or that the Plossl eye piece is equal to the X-Cel.

Any advice appreciated.

celstron.jpg

plossl15.jpg

soligor.jpg

helios.jpg

25 minutes ago, banjaxed said:

Assuming that your primary mirrors are clean then you should see a difference between the plossl and the Celestron. Try them at night on a star or planet to get a better idea.

Not clear what the second scope is (OP says a couple of refractors though) but the first one says "refractor" i.e. no mirrors to be concerned about (bar the diagonal?) 😉

Edited by wulfrun
  • Like 1

Both these refractors are good performers. Their focal ratios (focal length divided by the diameter of the objective lens) are not particularly demanding on eyepieces so you probably won't see much difference between using the 25mm plossl and the more expensive Celestron X-Cel LX 18mm, apart from the latter giving a bit more magnification.

As has been said - get them out under the stars and they should both deliver some very satisfying views.

Edited by John
  • Like 4

1 hour ago, John said:

Both these refractors are good performers. Their focal ratios (focal length divided by the diameter of the objective lens) are not particularly demanding on eyepieces so you probably won't see much difference between using the 25mm plossl and the more expensive Celestron X-Cel LX 18mm, apart from the latter giving a bit more magnification.