Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello all ...Whilst i would not describe myself as a total beginner in Astronomy , but , when it comes to Eye Pieces ( we will call them EPs from now on) i have very little knowledge . 

Indeed , every time i see an EP come up for sale on here i wonder what it will give me as a replacement to my , admittedly poor selection . Let me tell you where i am on this ... I have about six 25mm and the same number of 10mm , basic EP's that came with various scopes a 6mm cheap plossl , ... 3 or 4 cheap barlow lens ... a rather nice little 26mm Celestron EP all of which are 1 1/4 " .. oh and one 2" EP at 28mm . i rather like the 2" EP and the Celestron 26mm ... to be honest the rest are at best barely ok . So with that in mind i think its time i invested in something decent . Sure , just like scopes there are a wide variety of prices and manufacturers that offer a great product . 

I want a nice widefield EP , maybe a mid range and probably something like a 5mm ... maybe a good barlow lens ... 

I was thinking along the lines of a zoom EP ie one size fits all ... Any advice on these would be welcome 

My ST80 can only take 1 1/4" EPs , so until i upgrade the focuser ( when i can actually find one ) i probably need to stick to the 1 1/4" ... I do however have another refractor that takes 2" EPs . 

Like most , i am never going to buy the most expensive ... but , i suppose ( if i can use this analogy ) its like buying tyres for the car ... you get the best you can afford . 

So ... come on guys , give me some personal favourites that you use ... and maybe tell me why they are so good . After all ,any knowledge passed on here will help a whole bunch of people that are starting out on their journey into visual astronomy 

Thanks for reading 

Stu