SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dome Actuation

MikeMike Sharps

Hi, I am lucky enough to have a fabulous ‘Home Observatory UK’ hexagonal observatory I am looking to simply automate the dome for extended Astro-photography sessions. I currently move the dome by hand every 20-25 mins. I have acquired a 330mm linear actuator- which is powerful enough. I can work the mechanical aspects but looking for help on the electrical side of timing & switching.  I need to operate a 30v DC motor (750w) every 10mins for a few seconds. Don’t seem to be able to find a suitable timer switch off the shelf, looked at Ardunio / Raspberry PI, but quickly got out of my depth. 
looking for simple ideas, anyone done similar thing or can provide some help. I’m a retired mech engineer so only have basic electronic skills. 
All help appreciated.  
Mike 

Hi Mike. As an engineer I will now say those important  words , what are your requirements ? If you can rotate in a circle , a number of motors (between 1 and many) are probably easier to implement. They could be friction, belt and pinion or some other method of engagement but there are numerous open source and off the shelf solutions for that which would means your skills requirement can be kept to the appropriate level. 

Any details on the dome and physical layout ?

For the motor controller, I would be thinking of an Arduino (with LCD screen and a couple of buttons to adjust the sequence) and switching on and off a relay to drive the motor.  I know you've already said that you are out of your depth with that route, but it may be worth enquiring in a local community group, or the local college student union to see if there's anyone who'd be able to build you one locally.

Or maybe someone here can provide you an ascom compliant dome driver ?