Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Butterfly Stars on Tak FSQ-85EDX

UKRoman

Hi All,

Although I bought my first serious telescope for visual observing back in 1992, I'm still relatively new to Astrophotography. In the last 12 months I've played with a few small refractors to get the hang of things, including a WO ZS73 and a Redcat 51. I've used both of these with a modified Canon 800D and more recently a ZWO ASI2600MC Pro. Having found my feet somewhat in this fascinating branch of Astro I decided to take the plunge a buy a Takahashi FSQ-85EDX, a dream scope. First light was only brief break in the clouds, giving me an hour on the Horsehead nebula. However after a quick process in Astropixel Processor I managed to draw out a reasonable image for my first attempt with this gear (new ASIAIR pro and EAF too). I'm not totally unhappy with it, but have been surprised to see some strange artefacts to the stars around the outer third of the image (particularly noticeable on the bright star at the bottom left).  At first I thought I'd done something wrong with the processing, but after reading a number of posts on the forums it seems that 'butterfly' stars are the result of vignetting. So I stretched one of my Flats and sure enough there appears to be significant vignetting. To be honest I've not seen vignetting this severe before on either of my other small refractors. 

The imaging train for the attached image was FSQ-85EDX > 1.01 Flattener > M54 to M42 Adapter > M42 Spacers > ZWO Filter draw with Optilong LPro filter > ASI2600MC Pro. 

Although I haven't tried to image with my Canon 800D (also APSC) on the Tak, I have checked the vignetting with this camera and it appears to be around the same level, so I'm guessing I'd see the same artefacts around bright stars. I’ve also swapped the M42 adapters for M48 into the filter draw with the 2600MC Pro but the vignette looks unchanged.