Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Lens upgrade?

I have a Celestron Powerseeker 70EQ with a GSO 1.25" SuperView Eyepiece - 20mm. I attached photos I took with my iPhone. I can’t see details of Mars and Jupiter but I can see the moons of Jupiter. I can see Saturn easily due to the rings but no details. Do I need to upgrade my lens so I can see better details or am I just doing something wrong? I’m still somewhat new to this.

8CFBCB58-54E7-47FF-97E4-347622552F13.jpeg

76101E77-6D89-4D2A-9108-FEABB8964C1C.jpeg

8DCD9DFB-B46D-4EB8-82D1-F22FDAE50A32.jpeg

• Like 1

There is this rule: use the eyepieces with the smallest number for planets and the eyepieces (EP) with the biggest number for DSO (deepsky objects).

Why? Well planets are small but very bright, so in order to see their details you need EP that magnify by a lot.

And deep sky objects (nebulae and galaxies) are very faint but big, so you need low magnification EP.

Ex: the formula for magnification is the telescope's focal length divided by the eyepiece focal length. So do the math from here. By the way, I recommend checking the max magnification your telescope could approach. (the bigger the telescope, the larger the range of EP you could get). For example, with a small telescope a 5mm EP would do nothing but make the image bigger and fuzzier, without details. 

Here is a good calculator: https://astronomy.tools/calculators/magnification

(the formula for the max mag of a telescope is the telescope's aperture in mm (diameter) times 2.5. I think this is an empirical formula - though i'm not sure- but it works.)

Edited by Astrid

The simple answer to that is yes, though there are no easy answers when it comes to eyepieces!