Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Portable power supply for mount & accessories?

Hi, I'm interested to know how people power their Mount and telescope accessories (dew heaters, cameras, etc.) when out on location.  I've seen mixed reviews of the Skywatcher/Celestron Power Tanks 7 & 17Ah battery packs and was wondering if anybody has any experience using Solar Generators like the Allpowers 372W Solar Generator or similar, which contain Lithium Polymer battery packs.  The Lead acid type Battery packs have their limitations and it would be nice to power the mount on electricity derived from solar power.

https://www.youtube....h?v=4C4yp4-aL_I    

or search Amazon for Solar Generators, and you'll see various alternatives

Any advice or constructive comments welcome.

Peter P.

I have no experience of that device, sorry.

You first need to work out how much power you will need per observing session, probably in watts, for all your kit. 

The 7-20 amp hour things are fine if you use it to just power a basic mount for an hour or so, and then recharge immediately after. If you are using dew bands, laptops, peltier coolers, then you need significantly more capacity. This device is 370 watt hours, which at 13v is only 28 amp hours, so £8.57 per amp hour. A 75 amp hour deep cycle lead acid battery is 86p per amp hour... the latter could be charge dup with a small solar panel.

Do work out your power needs, then look at what size battery you need, I think this will help.

James

• Like 1