Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best EP for the Leo Trio

Os it the dobsonian or on an EQ mount?

I have the 200p explorer on eq, with thay setup my 20mm eyepiece frames them pretty well with room to spare. Probably get away with down to about 15mm depending on your AFOV.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Nick Sargeant said:

Sorry, it's dobsonian

thanks

So you will get a bit more magnification than me for any particular eyepiece. I would start with something in the 18-24mm range and go from there 👍

Of course if you have any super wide angle lenses you could zoom in further and still keep all 3 in frame.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, John said:

You want something that will show a true field of around 1.2 degrees. So a 20mm or 24mm SWA type eyepiece would do the job. Or a 30/32mm plossl.

Yes my error, I was using my 32mm not my 20mm. Good job I record details 😁

20200422_120832.jpg

Edited by miguel87
  • Like 2

Thanks for this everyone.

being a novice I only have the following EP's

super 25 wide angle (came with telescope)

super 10 ( came with telescope)

celestron x-cel lax 8

starguider ED 18mm

so hoping then that the 25 and 18 should bu useful?

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, Dr Strange said:

Yes, the 25 and 18 will do the trick. 

Yep you should just squeeze them all in the BST starguider. This only shows two because it has to be centred on one. The third is above.

Screenshot_20200423-195707_Chrome.jpg

• Like 1

15 minutes ago, Nick Sargeant said:

Wow,

bring on the darkness

Yeah. Pity I won't be able to get it. I am in a Bortle 7/8 transition zone. :( No joy for me until the QT ends and I can get to dark skies...

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, Nick Sargeant said:

Just had to educate myself on Bortle.. Another lesson learned..thanks Dr Strange

It's a good tool to use, when I first found out I was bortle 4 I though ok, that's pointless info!