Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Replacing supplied eyepieces (BST StarGuider with fast scope?)

Frostak

Hello,

I'm a beginnner, just bought my first telescope about a month ago (Celestron astromaster 130/650, f/5). I'm looking to replace the supplied eyepieces (especially the 20mm erecting one). I'm on a pretty tight budget tho (ideally I want to get under 150€). I'd like to get either 3 eyepieces or 2 eyepieces and a barlow.
Currently, I'm thinking of buying the BST StarGuider (25mm, 12mm, and either 8mm or 5mm) eyepieces. In description they have written that they should be fine up till f/5, however I've read somewhere that they may have issues on faster scopes.

Does anyone have some more insight into them? Or alternatively some advice about different alternatives? As I said I'm an absolute beginner, so any advice is appritiated.
Also note that I'm from Europe, so I can't really get eyepieces from US.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

• Like 1

Hi, welcome,

I'd go for two eyepieces and a Barlow. You'd not only get four magnifications, but every additional 1.25" eyepieces you add later on will provide two more magnifications. Of course you must plan well to avoid overlap.

A Barlow has the added advantage that it "slows down" your f/5 scope to f/10, which makes just about every eyepiece shine. (I exaggerate, a few eyepieces are bad at any focal ratio)

• Like 1

Thanks for the answers, I knew barlows work by pretty much extending focal length of the scope but never quite realized that that actually translates to slowing the scope.
That indeed does seem like the better option. If so are there any budget barlows/eyepieces you would recommend that work well together?. I'm able to buy the BST 2x barlow with two other eyepieces (I would probably stick to 26mm, dunno about the lower focal length one), but not sure how that one performs, didn't really find any reviews about it.