Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Need some help attaching a 450d to an explorer 150pds.

Ivar

(Not sure where to post this) I've been doing visual for a while with my Explorer 150pds and my HEQ5 pro, but I recently picked up a canon 450d and want to try out imaging. 

My question is: How exactly do I connect the dslr to the telescope. I've searched around, but I'm lost in a sea of adapters and people recommending different stuff, it's really confusing. I really wanna add on a coma corrector as well, but that only seem to add more layers of confusion as to what exactly I need. May sound a bit silly and all, but I'm new to the photography aspect.

Thanks in advance! 😓

You need a 2 inch adapter piece that screws into the body of your 450D, I will post a link to what I recon you need. The coma corrector goes into the 2 inch focuser on your scope then the 2 inch adapter goes into that.  Hopefully you should be able to reach focus. Dependant on the scope you may not need a coma corrector, especially if you crop the pic post processing.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

You need a 2 inch adapter piece that screws into the body of your 450D, I will post a link to what I recon you need. The coma corrector goes into the 2 inch focuser on your scope then the 2 inch adapter goes into that.  Hopefully you should be able to reach focus. Dependant on the scope you may not need a coma corrector, especially if you crop the pic post processing.

Thanks!! - and for fast response.

Edited by Ivar
  • Like 1

10 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

2 inch to avoid vignetting not 1.25

Also, is the baader mark-III coma corrector something to consider? There's a skywatcher coma corrector on a local store here, but I'm not even sure if it will fit without the need of an extra adapter. "a suitable M48X0.75 adaptor is required". image.png.2a7b85cb93b73201f37f48a9e53c5282.png

Edited by Ivar