NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

ZWO ASI 1600 & SW 130PDS - Coma or Poor Collimation or Something Else ?

Spaced Out

Hi All

I’ve just taken delivery of my first ever dedicated astro camera, ZWO ASI 1600 PRO. It’s very exciting, only ever dabbled about with a DSLR before, I’m a beginner really, so I feel like I’ve plunged into the deep end now ! Lots to learn here.

Anyway spent the other night testing it out for the first time, trying to set it up and get things spaced correctly. I am using ZWO filter wheel, ZWO OAG and Baader MK3 CC on a Skywatcher 130 PDS. After lots of fiddling and a couple of fine spacers I’ve got somewhere with it but still have ‘eggy stars’ around the corners.

Attached is a test shot.

I did a quick collimation of the scope and I thought it looked ok, so I did a star test (pics attached), one side of focus seems not bad, the other side seems a little out maybe ?

So..... I am wondering if the eggy stars could just be imperfect collimation ?

Or

Are the eggy stars still coma/incorrect spacing and if so any idea which way I need to go ? Should I add or remove spacers ?

I’ve also noticed when a test image is stretched there seems to be some uneven vignetting, more darkness on the right hand side of the images. That’s probably another issue for another day or perhaps it could be collimation related too ?

Any help would be welcome at this stage, lots to learn with this new camera but if I can get past these setting up issues I might actually get to use the thing ! 

Thanks

Gary

130-PDS-test.jpg

Inward-focus.jpg

Outward-focus.jpg

Edited by Spaced Out

Looks like coma to me as the stars are all pointing out towards the edges, you'll just have to try adding and removing spacers to see which makes it better. What is your total distance from sensor to the coma corrector? It should be 55mm.

The uneven illumination is a feature of the fast newts I believe, so don't worry about that, it will correct out with flat frames.