Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ZWO-ASI294 MC Cooled anyone using one?

fwm891

Does anyone on the forum use a ZWO ASI 294 MC Cooled camera? Can you tell me something about it's performance please.

I've trawled through Astro Backyard videos and a few others trying to get 'useful' information about the camera and it's operation.

Some of the imagery I've seen as a straight colour camera look great, some imagers using it with narrowband filters? Is this hype or a reality. I have reasonable bortle 4 skies so I'm wondering can I use this camera to it's potential.

I will be using it with an Altair 115EDT-APO, Celestron Edge HD8 and a WO ZS73 APO which means sampling will be fine with the 115, need to bin with the EdgeHD and a bit oversampled with the ZS73

Thanks

I have this camera which I purchased around 6 months ago... I am new to Astrophotography so still learning techniques but have to say very impressed with this camera. It produces amazing images even in my relative inexperience hands. I use this on a Skywatcher Equinox ED 80 pro and OVL Field Flattener fitted with ZWO IR/UV cut filter. Have heard great reports about narrowband photography also especially with STC Duo Filter.

• Like 1

Have been looking at same one

Few of my club members have different models

One of the guys, recently got the 1600 MC Cooled

The cooled have a slight advantage over non-cooled, imaging time from what I understand, be others here whom will probably correct me 

You will also need the ZWO ASIAIR WiFi device to conect to mobile device, and App such as SkySafari

Link to my local astronomy shop, down under on the ASIAIR

https://www.bintel.com.au/product/asiair/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIotrFwpT04wIV2YRwCh1_CwI8EAAYASAAEgLhivD_BwE&v=6cc98ba2045f

John

• Thanks 1

I think @Anthonyexmouth has one, but it's probably recent acquisition, so not sure how much time was there to get the hang of it.