Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M81 + M82 with Esprit 100

AbsolutelyN

This is my first attempt at a really long exposure, it's a combination of the odd clear night since Feb this year. Processing it has been a steep learning curve and I'm sure it could be done far better. I've found calibration of the 1600pro hard and still have not really fully sussed it ... but getting closer. Probably mostly as calibration is a completely new concept to me. I believe it's in the 26 hours region .... and suspect I've been too rough on the blacks and clipped them but it was an uneven background probably caused by bad calibration (or hazy skies). Anyway, it was good fun learning. Any feedback appreciated as keen to make improvements. Esprit 100, ZWO1600Pro, ZWO filters.

Changes in second image.
Further changes in third edit of this image!

https://www.astrobin.com/full/401219/0/?nc=user

M81+M82_APRIL_2019_B.jpg

M81+M82_APRIL_2019_c.jpg

M81+M82+IFN+FINAL.jpg

Good one. The background looks a bit green to me but that's an easy fix.

I would resist at all cost the temptation to use the black point to flatten the sky. It will inevitably cost you faint data and is not very effective either. What software do you use? If Pixinsight then DBE should do it. If Photoshop you could try the Gradient Xterminator plug in from Russ Croman.

Olly

Thanks Olly, didn't spot that. It's a got green/cyan cast in the blacks. It's had ABE in PixInsight and then I've also manually done a gradient removal with Apply Image with Subtration in Photoshop as there was still loads of gradients left after the ABE. I'll look again at that as perhaps it's too heavy handed. I'll have another go at reprocessing at some point as learnt so much from this one image I bet I can improve in it already ... I think this is attempt 5 at processing it! The first 4 were truly awful.  

54 minutes ago, AbsolutelyN said:

...uneven background probably caused by bad calibration...