SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Want to see the lunar eclipse

Hi, I'm an absolute novice. My 85 year old dad has given me his telescope to sell but since I've got it I'd like to go to Goodwood west Sussex perhaps on Sunday night to watch the eclipse. Ambitious since I have no idea how to set up the telescope, it's a tal- 100rt. Can anyone advise me? I do have a love of the world and it's wonders, frequently taking pics of the moon  on my mobile, only to get a white dot on the screen ? thinking I need my tent and my trangia stove for a cold night ahead. Is anyone going up to the trundle at Goodwood that might help me? Pretty please? Thanks for reading my post. 

Not familiar with this scope, any chance of posting up a photo.

Try contacting the local astro society and see if they are doing anything for the eclipse, but as it is in the early hours in the UK maybe not. 

Carole

Hi Gabz,

If you find a local club for sure they will help you out.

I have only had a scope for just under 12 months now and have found Astronomers to be a friendly bunch and very, very helpful so do not be afraid to ask. As said above you have a nice scope there so I hope you keep it rather than sell it and get good use from it.

Please keep the thread going and let us know how you get on. Maybe even some pics, even with a mobile taking pics through the eyepiece you can get some great shots of the moon.

Good luck ? 

Steve

Can you set the scope up at home tonight for trial run or even during the day?

the nice thing about the moon it it’s dead easy to find, you can see it even under the most light polluted skies and even when there’s a fair amount of cloud.