Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

EQ5 Tripod Leg Fell Off

So I was out trying to align my new polarscope (I've upgraded to the new reticle) and whilst moving the tripod around the north leg fell out!! Turns out both of the grub screws on one side are not biting the thread at all. Currently got gaffa tape doing the job of stopping a repeat performance, but anyone had the same issue? Will I need to tap out the hole and put in a bigger grub screw (something I've never done before)?

Haven't had that particular issue but some parts of Skywatcher kit seem to be made out of a variety of soft cheese.

Re-tapping is probably the best option I think, vs epoxying etc. Unless you never plan on dismantling the tripod.

You can get a cheap tap and die set from Screwfix or MachineMart, they're not fantastic quality but will go for a few jobs and save buying new kit. I used mine recently to tap a dovetail bar with holes for my guidescope rings. The kit Instantly paid for itself vs buying a ready-made bar.

1 hour ago, Yearofthegoat said:

Re-tapping is probably the best option I think, vs epoxying etc. Unless you never plan on dismantling the tripod.

Now I hadn't thought of epoxy. That might be the simple solution.

I had this same issue on a Celestron tripod. Gaffa tape was the first solution and worked well, but a more permanent solution (especially if you want to eventually sell it) would be re-tapping. It's not difficult, especially as the original grub screws were ludicrously small, and larger ones worked well.

Eric.

23 minutes ago, Cosmic Geoff said:

I have an EQ-5 but I am not clear what you mean. Grub screws? Can you post a photo?

I don't have a specific one to hand, but this shows where a small piece of gaffa tape is covering the top screw, and the bottom one is under the full wrap of gaffa. There are two on screws on the opposite side of the leg.

46468124_10156893898319507_3746155962600259584_o.jpg

4 minutes ago, ejp1684 said: