ASI294 2nd Light: Soul Nebula: Is this a waste of time..

feilimb

I might have been setting my sights a bit high, but I wanted to give the Soul Nebula a shot this evening.  I started shooting 180s exposures at gain 200, -10deg C on the ASI294MC Pro with *no filter* (as I don't have any yet).  I live in suburbs of a city, with moderate light pollution (I don't know what bortle scale number I am at).

The histogram of a single frame looks like this:

histogram.jpg.9751f15d46be1387a8265c5228bc5b83.jpg

I initially tried 4 minute exposures, but the histogram peak was creeping to the right hand side of center so I brought it back to 180s.

When I do a very simple stretch on a single frame it looks like this (no debayering applied):

ic1848_single_frame_180s_stretched.thumb.jpg.aaa9b175c855ce162ab98e5a5b90dc26.jpg

Am I wasting my time trying to capture this target without any filters?  Should I expect to see some diffuse nebula goodness in a single frame?

With the Soul Nebula being an emission type nebula I would imagine it would be very difficult to get anything from a single image. If my memory serves right (and I'm sure others will correct me if I'm wrong), these types of nebula are best shot using an Ha filter or without an IR filter so as to capture that red easier.

That's probably a really poor way of putting it, but I think the gist of it is there. Either way, my personal opinion is that to expect anything from a single unfiltered frame is asking a lot, even at 3 minutes. Have you tried stacking them yet?