NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

RGB exposure times more or less than L?

Other way round... 3 times more photons with L so you need to shorten the exposure to avoid saturating your stars, also depends on your camera,  I have an ASI1600 mono and find that 60s for Lum and 120s for RGB works well, for my scope and my conditions..  as for total integration time for each filter, it depends on what your target is, I’m no expert on this but would suggest You start off with the same and see what you get. 

I read something years ago, but have never been able to find it since...... While it doesn't relate to specific exposure times between Lum and RGB, it stated that if you wanted a good colour then you should use about 1x Lum to 1X RGB (total exposure time). 

I've pretty much stuck to that since, but I wish I could find it again!!

You actually want to go longer exposures with both - don't shorten Lum exposures.

I agree with Sara that you should at least have total time of L equal to total RGB time. I go for same total time of L and each R, G and B. Don't have less total time in color filters as there will be too much color noise in final image.

As for single subs, this is what I go for:

Don't worry about star saturation in L - you will go for faint stuff and most of your stars will be "overexposed" in the end regardless. So clipped stars in L are not important.