Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

complete noob question on auto guiding

Today i ordered a asi 120mc to use as auto guiding, now this is my 1st with this so this is what i believel so far, i can use the asi for polar alignment with sharpcap, also for guiding use phd, can either of these programmes do both or is there anything else out there i can use??

also im a Windows user i use stellarium at the moment but heard about ascom?? and also is there a nikon astro programme? sorry for these questions but i have that much going around my head with trying to grasp every bit of this amazing and expensive hobby? thanks in advance John

PHD2 does have polar alignment utilities as well if you want to avoid sharpcap.  ASCOM is a platform that many planetarium applications (Stellerium included) use to interface with your mount.  You would have the ASCOM EQMOD program running along side Stellerium.

Personally I just use Astrophotography Tool (https://ideiki.com/astro/Default.aspx) to control my camera and mount (with EQMOD running in background), and PHD2 for guiding.  I might occasionally load Stellerum to see whats in the sky when picking a target.

10 minutes ago, scitmon said:

PHD2 does have polar alignment utilities as well if you want to avoid sharpcap.  ASCOM is a platform that many planetarium applications (Stellerium included) use to interface with your mount.  You would have the ASCOM EQMOD program running along side Stellerium.

Personally I just use Astrophotography Tool (https://ideiki.com/astro/Default.aspx) to control my camera and mount (with EQMOD running in background), and PHD2 for guiding.  I might occasionally load Stellerum to see whats in the sky when picking a target.

so with phd2 is it better than sharpcap? which has the easiest and best polar alignment tool?