Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

is my data good enough

iwols

hi guys just set my pier up and got the following images, before i carry on capturing i would like to know if its my data or processing skills that are not up to scratch if anyone fancies a quick go at my data i would be thankful heres my poor effort and my original 5 min images lrgb,its just if my data is good enough i can carry on capturing while i learn the processing side better

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/h64891fecglg0oi/AADoYouZlhp7h_QCwxc8tn9wa?dl=0

and my feeble effort

Image05qq.jpg.4e9f6e438d2152cf661fcf9c5c8524f6.jpg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply
32 minutes ago, iwols said:

https://www.dropbox....Cwxc8tn9wa?dl=0

I can't get the link to work.  Can you repost it please.  I'm still learning Pix Insight and it's been 100% cloudy since forever here, so any new data would be most welcome :-)

thanks chris really appreciate that,it means i can carry on collecting data(when the clear skies make an appearance) even though im not up to scratch with the processing,youve done a superb job with the 10 mins each of lrgb,do you mind me asking what software you used and the rough workflow ,and again thanks

Thanks iwols. I used PI and GIMP, so the usual PI workflow of LRGB combine, ABE, masked stretch, histo. Then GIMP to finish off with levels and contrast, etc.

I forgot to star align your images which is why the stars look a bit stretched left to right... oops!

actually purchased a pixinsight licence a while ago but really struggling with it,albeit not had a lot of time with it either ,watched a lot of videos but they all seem to do it different and use flats,bias etc ,if i only knew the basics :confused2:thanks though chris a massive insentive to keep capturing the data